Leon Toyama: The Pulse

04/22/2011 11:03

 

I was surrounded. By lots of them. Just me. No one was there to back me up. No partners, no friends. Pffft... I didn't need them. I was a-ok by myself. Just because I'm 14 and abandoned doesn't mean I can't fend for myself. The setting sun sent playing rays of light through the cracks between New York's buildings. The road I was unfortunately stuck in was vacant... Now, what street in New York City is EVER vacant...? The men in black made a wide circle around me, trapping me in the middle. They looked like freaking superhero's with their long billowing black cloaks and masked faces. Like, you would find them as the slow-minded robbers in a Spiderman movie. They aimed their loaded Assault rifles and AK-47's. I wanted to laugh. I made sure I gave them all my, oh-so attractive stare with my... let's just say, good eye. Did I have a plan? Of course I didn't.

 

" Get on the floor, and we won't shoot, " One of them said.

... Really?

No matter what I did, you still were gonna shoot. What type of statement was that? My knees bent a little, readying myself for an impossible getaway. I shrugged, stuffing my hands in my pockets.

" Aw, come on guys, why don't we just settle this whole thing out? Let's get some coffee. It's on me, " I replied, sneering. The next thing I heard were the series of clicks as their fingers pulled lightly against the trigger. My eyes narrowed. " I guess not. "

 

Again they spoke, " If you come with us, you will not die. All we have to do is-- "

 

I broke in.

 

" Save it, Batman. " Instantly, I bunched up all my muscles in my legs and sky-rocketed into the air. 37 feet, 45 feet... higher and higher until the men began to look like sugar ants. I floated in the air there for a few seconds, my hands coiled into fists. I loved how the wind felt through my clothes. Then, I began to fall, feet first. What, you think just because I'm falling toward solid concrete, feet first that I'm gonna crumble? Well, boy, were you wrong. As soon as my legs made contact with the road, the ground cracked. A loud, screeching sound was heard as the cracks begin to expand. Splintering. In a ripple, huge chunks of concrete flew from the ground in a big wave, picking up cars... smashing windows, blowing up fire hydrants. Opening up freaking fissures.  Water sprouted into the air. I watched as the powerful wave knocked all the men off their feet, sending them airborne. Pistols and AK's flew, breaking into nearby skyscrapers or cluttering to the floor. Now, you should have an idea why they wanted me to go with them. You see, I have a speical...ability. I was born with it, I guess. Parents disappeared when I turned 7. Left me in a barely clean alliway. But I survived. I figured out my true power...my strength within. Then thats when them superhero's started coming after me... trying to bring me to wherever they wanted to bring me. I don't know. But what I do know is that I'm no regular human being. Combine me with the strength of Hulk, the speed of a Cheetah, and half-muscular body of a regular teenage boy. 30 % human, 70 % sound. Whaddaya get? A superhuman, irregular teenage boy. They call it... The Pulse.